Getting Started

what you will most likely be wondering about first

Beehiiv itself is at https://beehiiv.com

Beehiiv user forums are at

Beehiiv tutorials are at

Beehiiv Youtubes are at

The newsletter you are reading is at https://beehiivexperience.beehiiv.com

OK you’re thinking of building a newsletter and you have decided on Beehiiv. What’s it going to be like?

Let’s list the essentials. I’m a new user this year (2024) to Beehiiv and do not represent the company in any way, I’m here as a user, just like you.

Part A of my plan is to learn BH inside and out and offer a service to manage beehiiv NL for others for a monthly fee. Want me to do yours? Sure, be glad to. email icon is in the upper corner.

Part B of the plan is to create additional automation and AI tech as tools for BH authors. The goal is to provide the BH platform with the tools needed to create the most compelling newsletters possible with music, animations, digital avatars and twins, ai applications and components not yet possible in a newsletter.

Part C is to create and grow newsletters to sell. A BHNL farmer if you will. I’ll have to learn to gather committed subscribers for interesting topics for this part to work. We’ll see.

Part D - I dunno, I suspect there is one in there somewhere but I don’t see it yet.

My approach to learning new tech often involves making mistakes and learning from them. I ask my self question and try to answer them. My normal approach seems to be to guess wrong, make the mistake and learn from it.

Training? Never heard of it. Documents and manuals? Yeah, sure, later. If I can even find them. Tutorials? Well if they are enjoyable and comfortable to listen to, OK a few anyway. If I can find them (Youtube? or a custom Video platform? Embedded in tutorials? Yikes.)

What’s the big picture of a Beehiiv Newsletter workflow?

It’s really 2 things. Emails you would write and send out, termed a post. And a repository of the posted emails very much like a blog. And, you don’t have to send the post as an email at all, you can just save the post in the blog never emailing it.

Just what I was looking for.

Posts have “stages”.
First you write it as a draft, it sits in the draft group. It can sit for as long as it takes you to develop it and finish it before emailing it and blogging it or just blogging it without emailing. You can even just have it sit in the draft group as long as you want and not email or blog it, so it acts as a place to gather ideas and self talk.

Here is a video I uploaded to Youtube that was created by the new LTX Studio AI entirely from a prompt “Create a video showing the challenges of starting a newsletter from 0 to 2500 in 3 months.” Crazy ain’t it?